Find Projects/contractors
Bid More. Win More!
Use On-Screen Takeoff and Quick Bid to cut your estimating time in half and increase your profits.
HVAC Licensing


HVAC - (SIC 1711)
Heating, Air Conditioning, and Refrigeration Contractors


Jump to our Main Licensing Page


ALABAMA LICENSE

ALABAMA LICENSE
Alabama State Board of Heating and Air Conditioning Contractors
100 N. Union Street Suite 630
Montgomery, AL 36130
phone: (334) 241-0840
toll free phone: (866) 855-1912
website: www.hvacboard.state.al.us
How to get Licensed
Exam Application
Refrigeration Exam Application
Reciprocity Application

Alabama provides Contractor License Reciprocity with Lousiana, Mississippi and Tennessee. See link above.

License Limitations How You Qualify Fees
Heating and Air Conditioning Contractor license Alabama has two classes of licenses, Heating and Air Conditioning and/or Refrigeration both active licenses are $165.00 initial fee and $165.00 annual renewal. You may also acquire a license through reciprocity with certain states or through grandfathering until 2011. The section for fees and requirements can be referenced in Alabama Administrative Rules and Regs. Sec. 440-X-3-.10 (Fees and Charges). An inactive license is $82.50 and testing fees range from $150.00 - $350.00.
General Contractor license Must have this license if job is over 20,000, category specialty construction heating and air conditioning. submit app, submit financial statement, experience and inventory questionare done by CPA, have proper insurance. $300 dollar application and license fee, $200 dollar Renewal Fee
Refrigerations license Alabama has two classes of licenses, Heating and Air Conditioning and/or Refrigeration both active licenses are $165.00 initial fee and $165.00 annual renewal. You may also acquire a license through reciprocity with certain states or through grandfathering until 2011. The section for fees and requirements can be referenced in Alabama Administrative Rules and Regs. Sec. 440-X-3-.10 (Fees and Charges). An inactive license is $82.50 and testing fees range from $150.00 - $350.00.


ALASKA LICENSE

License Limitations How You Qualify Fees
Mechanical Contractor License Check with state for details Submit evidence of insurance, liability and workers comp, surety bond of 5,000 dollars requried. $30 dollar application fee, 225 dollar license fee.



ARIZONA LICENSE

License Limitations How You Qualify Fees
General Contractor Commercial Commercial Specialty Contractors License Categories - Air Conditioning and Refrigeration L-39, Commercial and Industrial Refrigeration L-49, Comfort Heating Vetilation and Evaporative Cooling L-58, Air and Refrigeration with solar L-79 Four years of practical experience two of which in the last ten years, submit financial statement, must not have had a license refused or revoked withn a year prior, pass exam on building, safety, health and lien laws of the state. Pass trade exam, Bonding depends on class and how much volume of work. $400 annual license fee
Residential Air Conditioning and Refrigeration Contractor including solar C-39. Residential work Four years of practical experience two of which in the last ten years, submit financial statement, must not have had a license refused or revoked withn a year prior, pass exam on building, safety, health and lien laws of the state. Pass trade exam, Bonding depends on class and how much volume of work. $200 dollar annual fee, 300 dollar recovery fee.


ARKANSAS LICENSE

License Limitations How You Qualify Fees
Mechanical Contractor license License Required to bid on jobs of 20,000 or more Must have five years experience, must pass license exam, pocess a 10,000 dollar surety bond and have a business net worth of 20,000 dollars. $100 filling fee, $100 dollar Renewal Fee


CALIFORNIA LICENSE

License Limitations How You Qualify Fees
Specialty Contractors Class C 40 diffrent classifications, check with board for details Must have four years exp, as a journeyman, foreman or superviser, must have 2,500 dollars worth of operating capital, must have insurance, must have bond in the amount of five thousand, must pass law and business exam and then pass exam for specific classification $ 150 dollar initial fee, 200 dollar renewal fee.


COLORADO LICENSE


There are no State license requirements for Colorado.


CONNETICUT LICENSE

Heating Piping Cooling Work Examining Board
Occupational Licensing Division
Consumer Protection Dept.
165 Capitol Ave, Hartford CT, 06106
Phone: (203) 566-3275


License Limitations How You Qualify Fees
Unlimited Heating Cooling Contractors License S-1, Limited journeymans license, unlimited journeymans license, limited heating cooling license, apprentice permit. Check for details Be of good character, must have an eighth grade education, must have two years on the job experience, pass state exam $70 dollar application, $150 dollar Renewal Fee


DELAWARE LICENSE

License Limitations How You Qualify Fees
Contractors License A license is required for Contractors or Subcontractors working in the construction industry. Proof of Insurance, need to be bonded, Must obtain a Delaware contractors business license. Out of state contractors must provide a statement of contracts or have an office or residence inside the state. Must have bond equal to six percent or more of jobs equaling 20,000 or more. $50 dollar license fee


DISTRICT OF COLUMBIA LICENSE

License Limitations How You Qualify Fees
Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Contractor License Check for details Business must be conducted by a person holding a master refrigeration or a master air conditioning mechanical license. $50 dollar application fee, 20 dollar license fee
Master Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Mechanic License Check for details Five years experience installing, repairing, replacing air conditioners larger than 25 compresser horsepower, or equivalent tons in refrigeration, post five thousand dollar bond, and pass written exam 10 dollar application fee, 10 dollar license fee, 20 dollar exam fee, 70 dollar annual renewal fee.
Master Refrigeration and Air Conditioning Mechanic Limited License Check for details Five years experience installing, repairing, replacing air conditioners larger than 25 compresser horsepower, or equivalent tons in refrigeration, post five thousand dollar bond, and pass written exam 10 dollar application fee, 10 dollar license fee, 20 dollar exam fee, 70 dollar annual renewal fee.


FLORIDA LICENSE

License Limitations How You Qualify Fees
State Certified Class A Can work anywhere in the state Must have workers comp, must pass exam, must meet other educational or on the job requirements. $355 dollar examination fee, 125 dollar certification fee, 125 dollar biennial renewal fee.
State Registered Class A Can only work in local areas where local requirements are met, can work on any size unit Must contact local government for details, some are diffrent from others, after local requirements are met, a license may be applied for. $100 dollar registration fee, $100 dollar renewal fee
State Certified Class B Can work anywhere in the state Must have workers comp, must pass exam, must meet other educational or on the job requirements, class B is limited to 20 tons of cooling and 500,000 BTU of heating on any system. Must be 18, meet one of the following criteria, (1) must have a four year accredited degree in appropriate field also have one year of exp or 2000 hours of service, (2) four years of active experience----- pass state exam, $354 dollar examination fee
State Registered Class B Can only work in local areas where local requirements are met, class B is limited to 20 tons of cooling and 500,000 BTU of heating on any system. Must contact local government for details, some are diffrent from others, after local requirements are met, a license may be applied for. $100 dollar registration fee, $100 dollar renewal fee


GEORGIA LICENSE

State Construction Industry Licensing Board
Div of Condtioned Air Contractors Proffesional Examining Board
166 Pryor St. SW Atlanta GA. 30303 Phone: (404) 656-3939


License Limitations How You Qualify Fees
Class ll Air Contractors License system size is unlimited for this license 3 years Exp is required, pass class ll exam $29 dollar app fee, 56 dollar exam fee
Class l Air Contractors License Restricted to 175,000 BTU of heating and 60,000 BTU of cooling with this license 3 years Exp is required, pass class ll exam $29 dollar app fee, 56 dollar exam fee


HAWAII LICENSE

License Limitations How You Qualify Fees
Contractors License Class B Classes, Refrigeration C-40, Ventilating and Air Conditioning C-52 Proof of Insurance, Must have four years of supervised licensed experience, Pass exams $50 dollar business and law exam fee 50 dollar trade exam fee


IDAHO LICENSE

No state license required for Idaho Contractors


ILLINOIS LICENSE

No State License is required for Illinois contractors. Check local requirements


INDIANA LICENSE

License Limitations How You Qualify Fees
Specialty Contractors Class C 40 diffrent classifications, check with board for details Must have four years exp, as a journeyman, foreman or superviser, must have 2,500 dollars worth of operating capital, must have insurance, must have bond in the amount of five thousand, must pass law and business exam and then pass exam for specific classification $ 150 dollar initial fee, 200 dollar renewal fee.



IOWA LICENSE

License Limitations How You Qualify Fees
General Contractor Registration Any construction contractor in the state of Iowa, must be registered with the Iowa Division of Labor Obtain an Iowa employer account number, submit certificate of insurance listing the Division of labor as the certificate holder for workers copensation coverage. $25 dollar registration fee



KANSAS LICENSE

Contractors Must register with Dept. of Revenue Robert B. Docking State Bldg. - Topeka KS. 66625 - Phone: (877) 526-7738 Kansas Department of Revenue Website



KENTUCKY LICENSE

No State License is required for Kentucky Contractors.


LOUSIANA LICENSE

License Limitations How You Qualify Fees
Mechanical Contractors License License is required for jobs of 50,000 or more, no license is required for residential contractors, Class includes heating, air condtioning, venitlation, duct work and refrigeration. Submit references from licensed contractor, submit audited financial statement showing net worth of 10,000 dollars. Pass exam on basic construction, have insurance $100 license fee, 95 dollar additional classification fee, 400 dollar non resident surcharge.



MAINE LICENSE

No state license required for Maine Contractors.



MARYLAND LICENSE

License Limitations How You Qualify Fees
Master Contractor License Can perform any HVACR services Holders of Anne Arundel or Prince Georges County license do not have to take exam, contractors providing services for five or more years can get a license without an exam and out of state HVAC license holders can become licensed without taking exam. Check for details
Master Restricted Contractor License Can perform only specific services in one area or category Holders of Anne Arundel or Prince Georges County license do not have to take exam, contractors providing services for five or more years can get a license without an exam and out of state HVAC license holders can become licensed without taking exam. Check for details
Limited Contractor License Able to maintain or repair all HVACR areas Holders of Anne Arundel or Prince Georges County license do not have to take exam, contractors providing services for five or more years can get a license without an exam and out of state HVAC license holders can become licensed without taking exam. Check for details
Journeyman License Able to maintain or repair all HVACR areas only under direction of a contractor Must be an apprentice for three years Check for details
Apprentice License Able to assist only under direction of a contractor all employess who do hands on work must obtain this license Check for details



MASSACHUSETTS LICENSE

License Limitations How You Qualify Fees
Contractor License Must obtain license for any unit 10 tons or over Must own a contracting business and have four years exp. $150 exam fee
Refrigeration Technician Must obtain license for any unit 10 tons or over Have at least three years exp and pass exam $75 exam fee
Trainee License Must obtain license for any unit 10 tons or over Must be 18 years of age and in an apprenticeship program $20 dollar fee no exam required



MICHIGAN LICENSE

Mechanical Division
Bureau of Construction Codes
Dept. of Labor
7150 Harris Dr. P.O. Box 30015
Lansing MI, 48909
Phone: (517) 322-1287


License Limitations How You Qualify Fees
Mechanical Contractor License Can work throughout the state three years work exp, good moral character. pass two written exams, $75 dollar fee



MINNESOTA LICENSE

No state license required for minnesota Contractors. Except for residential builders, City of Minneapolis requires licensing of HVAC installers.



MISSISSIPPI LICENSE

License Limitations How You Qualify Fees
Certificate of Responsibility Certificate Required for public jobs over 50,000, private projects over 100,000, under 7,500 square feet and one to two stories in height. Financial statement by a CPA must be submitted, assets must include a net worth of 20,000 dollars, out of state contractors must qualify with the secretary of state and pass a construction exam. $100 dollar application fee, 50 dollar additional classification fee, 50 dollar exam fee



MISSOURI LICENSE

No state license required for Missouri Contractors.



MONTANA LICENSE

No state licensing for HVAC Contractors



NEBRASKA LICENSE

License Limitations How You Qualify Fees
Air Condtioning Heating Contractor Can work throughout state Must have three years exp. Pass exam $30 dollar application fee, 20 dollar registration fee



NEVADA LICENSE

License Limitations How You Qualify Fees
Specialty Contractor License Heating Cooling and Circulating air, Subclass C1f of Classification C-1: Plumbing and Heating have four years experience, post bond depending on job size, pass management exam. $270 application fee,40 dollar management exam fee



NEW HAMPSHIRE LICENSE

No state licensed required.



NEW JERSEY LICENSE

No state licensing for New Jersey Contractors, check local jurisdiction



NEW MEXICO LICENSE

License Limitations How You Qualify Fees
Mechanical Contractor License Can work throuout state be 18, complete four years of exp in last ten years. $30 dollar application fee, 30 dollar exam fee



NEW YORK LICENSE

No state licensed is required.



NORTH CAROLINA LICENSE

License Limitations How You Qualify Fees
Plumbing Heating and Air Conditioning Contractor Need license for jobs of 45,000 dollars or more Must be experienced, pass written or oral exam $100 dollar exam fee, 25 to 50 dollar license fee



NORTH DAKOTA LICENSE

License Limitations How You Qualify Fees
Contractors License License is needed for jobs exceeding 500 dollars provide experience and qualifications, must have insurance, 1000 or 2000 dollar bond must be posted Must pass an exam, bonding requirement Check for details



OHIO LICENSE

No state license required.

Ohio Construction Industry Examining Board - has legislative authorization to conduct testing and grant licenses for specialty contractors in Ohio. Specialties are HVAC, Electrical, Plumbing, Refrigeration and Hydronics. Each license holder must renew annually with required amount of continuing education units. The current legislation requires licensing to perform work in Ohio that is regulated by the state (All commercial work and residential work only of 4 units or greater per building). OCIEB is located at 6606 Tussing Rd. Reynoldsburg OH 43068, ph 614-644-3493. fax 614-728-1200

The enabling legislation is HB 434.
Website



OKLAHOMA LICENSE

State License Required

Employee license required, three years exp. and pass examination, 25 dollar exam fee.



OREGON LICENSE

License Limitations How You Qualify Fees
Restricted Energy Contractor Must have two years exp in HVAC type work Contractors must maintain a list for the electrical board of all employees $ 125 dollar license fee



PENNSYLVANIA LICENSE

No state license required.



RHODE ISLAND LICENSE

State Board of Pipefitter, Refrigeration, and Fire
Protection and Sprinkler Contractors
Rhode Island Dept of Labor
544 Elmwood Ave.
Providence R.I. 02907
Phone: (401) 457-1860

License Limitations How You Qualify Fees
Residential Building Contractor/Subcontractor Limited to Residential work Must know building codes and know proper trade practices, must carry adequate insurance coverage $ 60 dollar license fee
Refrigeration Mechanic Master License Employee License Hold journeymans license for one year and have 10,000 hours of work exp. pass written exam check for details
Refrigeration Mechanic Journeymans License Employee License Four years exp working as a registered apprentice for a licensed mechanic, pass exam check for details
Air Conditioning Mechanic Master License Employee License Hold journeymans license for one year and complete 10,000 hours of related exp Pass written exam check for details
Air Conditioning Mechanic Journeymans License Employee License Four years exp working as an apprentice for a licensed mechanic. Pass written exam check for details



SOUTH CAROLINA LICENSE

License Limitations How You Qualify Fees
Mechanical Contractor License Air Conditioning Class Required for jobs of 17,500 or more Submit financial statement, showing minimum net worth based on value of contracts bid on, if contract exceeds 250,000 meet bonding requirements $ 110 dollars application fee ,120 annual license fee



SOUTH DAKOTA LICENSE

No state license required.



TENNESSEE LICENSE

License Limitations How You Qualify Fees
Mechanical Contractor Check state for details Must submit financial statement, proving that a job over 25,000 dollars is not currently being done, pass exams $150 dollar application, 45 dollar exam fee, 100 dollar renewal fee



TEXAS LICENSE

Texas Licensing Website
Texas Contractors License Texas Dept of Labor and Standards: Licensing Section P.O. Box 12157 Austin Tx. 12157 (800) 803-9202 Texas Dept of Licensing and Regulation P.O. Box 12157 Austin, TX 78711, (512) 463-6500 or 1-800-803-9202 Barbara Stoll Team Leader, Technical Standards Mailing Address: Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR) Compliance Division/Boiler Program E.O. Thompson Bldg. P.O. Box 12157 Austin, TX 78711 Physical Address: Hobby Building Tower III, Room 240 333 Guadalupe St. Austin, TX 78701 Office: (800) 803-9202 Toll Free: 1-800-722-7843 Fax: 512-463-1376

TDLR Boiler Home Page: http://www.license.state.tx.us/boilers/blr.htm
TDLR Boiler Law and Rules: http://www.license.state.tx.us/boilers/blrlaw.htm
http://www.license.state.tx.us/boilers/blrrules.htm

License Limitations How You Qualify Fees
Class A license Can install repair and alter equipment of any size three years exp, within last five years, or a degree in air conditioning or mechanical engineering, pass exam $ 100 dollar exam fee, 150 license fee
Class B license Can install repair and alter equipment up to 25 tons cooling capacity, and nor more than 1.5 million BTU per hours output heating capacity three years exp, within last five years, or a degree in air conditioning or mechanical engineering, pass exam $ 100 dollar exam fee, 150 license fee



UTAH LICENSE

License Limitations How You Qualify Fees
Specialty Contractors License Statewide, commercial and residential request monetary limit for work being carried out at any given time, carry minimum liability insurance, and pass open book exam on Utah business and Law on specified trade $200 dollar license fee, 45 dollar business exam fee, 50 dollar trade exam fee



VERMONT LICENSE

No state license required



VIRGINIA LICENSE

License Limitations How You Qualify Fees
Contractor Class A HVAC Class A for jobs of 70,000 or more Must carry insurance, have a net worth of 45,000 or more $135 dollar application fee, 50 dollar exam fee
Contractor Class B HVAC Class B for jobs 70,000 or less Must carry insurance, have a net worth of 15,000 or more $115 dollar application fee, 40 dollar exam fee



WASHINGTON LICENSE

License Limitations How You Qualify Fees
Specialty Contractor License All contractors must register Must carry insurance and post bond $40 dollar registration fee



WEST VIRGINIA LICENSE

License Limitations How You Qualify Fees
HVAC Contractor License Check with state Check state board $100 dollar application fee, 40 dollar business exam fee, 40 dollar trade exam fee, 100 dollar renewal fee



WISCONSIN LICENSE

No state license required.



WYOMING LICENSE

No state license required

Oncenter Construction Bidding Software
License Assistance